On The Edge

I have posted a bunch of my art on here; I still need to post some of my drawings too. This week I decided to post a song I co-wrote in my very first band back in 91’. Playing and recording music is such a great feeling and is just another one of my outlets. Unfortunately I don’t get to play as much as I would like; having four kids, working and going to school full time kind of puts a slight damper on that. When I’m done with school and my kids are older, I do plan on forming a band just for the fun of it. I do pick up my bass and run through various scales and come up with some cool riffs. The bad thing about that is I don’t have any recording equipment to record my ideas on and I forget what I came up with.

I’m pretty much a self-taught bassist and guitarist. I took lessons from a friend of mine for about six months and then I just bought various books on scales and chords and just went from there. After about ten years of playing bass I picked up the guitar just for fun. I’ll be honest with you; I’m not much of a guitar player. The extent of my guitar playing is thrashing out power chords with lots of thick, rich distortion. I just goof around and have fun with the guitar. My weapon of choice though is the bass.

This song “On The Edge” is pretty much about teenage anx. I really liked the song so I took it with me from band to band and with each band it would take on a new feel. Finally when I was in recording school back in 98’ I recorded it for my final project. I produced it, engineered and recorded it. I played the bass tracks and did the vocal tracks. I wore many hats on this project. My friend at the time laid down the guitar tracks and my teacher played the drums. I wanted to post this song in one of the lightsaber forums I belong to. The only way to do that was to make a slide show and add the music. So I haphazardly put the music to a lightsaber slide show. The song is the main focus.

I have posted a bunch of my art on here; I still need to post some of my drawings too.  This week I decided to post a song I co-wrote in my very first band back in 91’.   Playing and recording music is such a great feeling and is just another one of my outlets.  Unfortunately I don’t get to play as much as I would like; having four kids, working and going to school full time kind of puts a slight damper on that.  When I’m done with school and my kids are older, I do plan on forming a band just for the fun of it.  I do pick up my bass and run through various scales and come up with some cool riffs.  The bad thing about that is I don’t have any recording equipment to record my ideas on and I forget what I came up with.

I’m pretty much a self-taught bassist and guitarist.  I took lessons from a friend of mine for about six months and then I just bought various books on scales and chords and just went from there.  After about ten years of playing bass I picked up the guitar just for fun.  I’ll be honest with you; I’m not much of a guitar player.  The extent of my guitar playing is thrashing out power chords with lots of thick, rich distortion.  I just goof around and have fun with the guitar.  My weapon of choice though is the bass.

This song “On The Edge” is pretty much about teenage anx.  I really liked the song so I took it with me from band to band and with each band it would take on a new feel.  Finally when I was in recording school back in 98’ I recorded it for my final project.  I produced it, engineered and recorded it.  I played the bass tracks and did the vocal tracks.  I wore many hats on this project.  My friend at the time laid down the guitar tracks and my teacher played the drums.  I wanted to post this song in one of the lightsaber forums I belong to.  The only way to do that was to make a slide show and add the music.  So I haphazardly put the music to a lightsaber slide show.  The song is the main focus.

~ by jlambert7 on March 5, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
